On September 25, 2019, the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW) voted unanimously to approve Dr. Katherine A. Lemos, President Donald Trump’s nominee to lead the U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board (CSB). Dr. Lemos’ nomination will now advance to the full Senate for confirmation.

Prior to Dr. Lemos’ nomination, the Trump Administration had declined to nominate new members to fill the agency’s vacant board member seats and even considered eliminating the small federal agency. The previous chairperson, Vanessa Allen Sutherland, resigned in May 2018, two years prior to the end of her term. Since then, the CSB has operated with two vacant board member seats, including the chairperson position.

Dr. Lemos has previously served both with the Federal Aviation Administration and on the National Transportation Safety Board and is currently the director of programs for Northrop Grumman Corporation’s Aerospace Sector. In support of her nomination, the White House highlighted Dr. Lemos’ background in system safety, accident investigation, human factors, and advanced technology research and integration.